Charity shop-sourced party bags

For my daughter’s fifth birthday I have challenged myself to source the party bags and contents from charity shops. There will be 15 children, 4 of them are boys, 2 of them are 3 yrs old (the rest are around 5 yrs old)

So here’s how I’ve done so far. The job isn’t finished but I’m nearly there.

img_20151215_132145-1.jpg

There is no end of small cute bags out there for about £1 each or less. Some are really pretty. I’ve bought one bag for a boy so far – High School Musical themed – but it looks boyish. Theres also a cute little Paddington Bear bag for one of the younger children. At least the kids can keep them and use them afterwards.

For the contents, again, I wanted to do something useful that they could keep. Most of the kids have just started school, so there’s a mixture of story books and ‘learning to read’ books. They ranged in price from 10p to 50p each and I chose ones in good condition.

img_20151215_132412-1.jpg

Then for other fillers I found a bumper pack of hair clips, so I split them up and attached them to those bits of ribbon used to hang skirts on hangers (I knew they’d come in useful!).

img_20151215_132253-1-1.jpg

And some Matchbox cars for the boys. Trying to stay unisex and charity shop-sourced was just a task too far.

img_20151215_132340-1.jpg

Plus some other bits and pieces, like finger puppets and kids jewellery – and I think we are there. There was a little help from Lidl with some sweet things.

So I think the whole lot has cost just over £20. Which I don’t think is bad at all. It was fun too.

I’d like to thank:

Cancer Research UK, Beckenham

Sense, Beckenham

Sense, Penge

St Christopher’s Hospice, Beckenham

St Christopher’s Hospice, Penge

3 thoughts on “Charity shop-sourced party bags

Leave a Reply

