mycharityshoplife does Fulham

Well sort of. Parsons Green and the bit of the Fulham Road that’s in Chelsea.

Here are the highlights of a lovely day spent with my daughter charity shopping in a pretty pricey area of London.

My chosen OOTD to embark on our journey was the handmade fifties dress that I found at the Classic Car Boot Sale on the South Bank in London, earlier this year. I teamed it with skinny jeans and chunky platform sandals to dress it down.

Handmade fifties dress from Gloria vintage pop up shop

I love Mary’s Living and Giving shops, created by Mary Portas for Save the Children. I wanted to try some of these boutiques that I hadn’t visited before. Taking the tram from Croydon (Bella loves trams), we headed up to Wimbledon then on to Parsons Green, a genteel, residential area between Fulham and Putney.

As expected, the shop was amazing.

Mary's Living and Giving shop, Parson's Green

Bella set to work straight away.

bellabrowsing

And found this H&M dress for £4 …

White lacy H&M girls dress

Very happy as you can see – in the dressing room with a fake bookshelf door. Its details like this that add to Mary’s Living and Giving shops charm.

I spent a long time looking at shoes. I tried on the turquoise Marc Jacobs ones, at the bottom of the picture below, several times, but I didn’t buy in the end. I mentally go through my wardrobe to justify a purchase to see how many combinations I can get out of a piece. Am I weird? Yes probably. So I didn’t buy them – but I did love them.

Shoes in Mary's Living and Giving shop, Parsons Green

But I did buy this very practical black Banana Republic shirt for £12.

Black Banana Republic shirt, £12

Next we headed to Fulham Broadway for lunch and a walk along the Fulham Road to another Mary’s Living and Giving shop, but it was closed 😦

So we kept going until we found another charity shop. And the lucky establishment to host these two eager bargain hunters was the Octavia Foundation shop on Fulham Road in Chelsea.

Octavia Foundation shop, Fulham Road, Chelsea

Again, full of top quality stock and high end labels, but in a more traditional charity shop layout, rather than the vintage chic of Mary’s Living and Giving shops. Either format works for me!

Isabella found this gorgeous sixties print Maggie & Zoe summer dress for £8.

Maggie & Zoe sixties print summer dress, £8

And I found this rather wonderful US label Karen Kane khaki rayon skirt for £10. Its got buttons down the front and pockets, and is very lovely to wear. I inadvertently bought something on trend.

Karen Kane khaki rayon skirt, £10

We had an adventure in the rain, then the sun, in a lovely part of London full of hidden treasures of all sorts. I thoroughly recommend a charity shop trawl of Chelsea and Fulham.

Might try Putney and Barnes next …

Leave a Reply

