Jumble Trail

There were a few significant names for yesterday – Fathers’ Day, the longest day of the year – but my favourite was Penge Jumble Trail day.

I wish I knew who organised it for Penge, but the main Jumble Trail idealists are here www.jumbletrail.com. Its a brilliant local bargain hunt around house-hosted street stalls in a local area. You get to have a nice walk, meet people who live nearby, sample local food, and, in our case, the local brewery (www.lateknightsbrewery.co.uk), and find some great bargains in the process. Reuse, thrift, beer and a chat – right down my street.

I (with husband, daughter, Dad, his partner and a 15 year old in tow) started at Penge’s own piece of heaven, Alexandra Nurseries, with a swift flat white and a rummage in some boxes of vinyl. I was astounded to find that whoever had had a chuck-out of the music from their youth, pretty much had the same music taste as me – except I am resurrecting my indie, shoegaze obsession. This find made me very happy and the money was going to Nepal.

Indie vinyl haul

Indie vinyl haul, £28 the lot, Alexandra Nurseries jumble trail stall

The good thing about the jumble trail being local was that I could offload this stuff at home before purchasing more!!

Next we headed down Penge High Street to the very cool Goldsmiths Arms. One of our great local pubs. There were several stalls outside, where I found these lovely items:

Handmade red star earrings

Handmade red star earrings £1, Goldsmiths Arms jumble trail stall

Penge Tourist Board shopper

Penge Tourist Board shopper £10

I’ve had my eye on one of these for a while – and I hear they sold out. Yes we do have our own group of enthusiasts looking out for Penge: Penge Tourist Board.

So, after booking our Father’s Day dinner at the Goldsmiths, we moved on to Raleigh Road, where according to the map there were to be four stalls. We only found one – but that was enough – I bought a near perfect Buckaroo! for £4, which Isabella now loves playing.

Kenilworth Road had some lovely street-side stalls with equally lovely friendly proprietors. I picked these up for Isabella:

Hot wheels cars

Hot wheels cars, 5p each from a Jumble Trail stall on Kenilworth Road, Penge

Just round the corner from Kenilworth Road is Penge & District Trade Union and Social Club aka Royston Halls. Its a bit like stepping back in time, especially if you are from South Yorkshire like me where working men’s clubs were all over the place. This venue holds a vintage fair on the third Sunday of the month (except July and August) and I’ve picked some great items up from here before. Here’s what I found:

Polaroid sunglasses

Polaroid sunglasses £3 from the Vintage and Collectables Fair, Royston Halls, Penge

Stainless steel Seiko watch

Stainless steel Seiko watch, in full working order, £8, the Vintage and Collectables Fair, Royston Halls, Penge

I didn’t own a watch before so I was really pleased with this find. The skull bracelet was from a box of jewellery for £2 on a stall outside the Goldsmiths Arms.

So we can safely say – it was a good day. My Dad’s partner and I probably had the best time, then Isabella as she was having things bought for her and people kept giving her sweets. The men seemed happy after their slap up Father’s Day meal at least!!

The day was well-organised, with lots of participants both selling and buying. So THANK YOU whoever was behind it – and the people of Penge. The weather was great too. I really hope it becomes a regular event.

Why don’t you look into holding a Jumble Trail where you are?

Leave a Reply

