Classic Car Boot Sale

I’m playing catch up with my blog entries at the moment. Its not like I’ve stopped buying and donating, I really haven’t, its just everyday life got massively hectic. But I’ve embraced a bit of modernity and just bought myself a tablet – reconditioned, naturally – and its already transformed my life after two days use.

This post is nearly a month late. I went to the Classic Car Boot Sale on the South Bank in London on 14 March 2015 with my husband and Isabella. Its a good job they came because had I been on my own I would have spent much more.

image

The event was a superb collection of vintage and retro fashion, homewares, music, stylish people, and of course classic cars. It was a pretty chilly day, which did affect my browsing. Couldn’t keep away from the furry, sheepskin and woollen coats. But I couldn’t justify another coat.

My first stop was ‘Gloria’, a ‘unique mobile vintage clothing boutique’ which has featured on George Clarke’s Amazing Spaces (Facebook – gloriadressingupbox, Twitter – @GloriaPopUpShop). I was captivated by the gorgeous array of vintage clothes, but also at the prospect of shopping in a bohemian horse box converted into a shop and a home. I found this gorgeous genuine 1950s handmade dress.

image

My second purchase was a weather-influenced one, which I wore on top of my jacket for the rest of that day. I bought it from Vintage at Narnia’s (Facebook – vintageatnarnia) stall. I’m not quite sure what you would call it. A poncho-cardigan-cape combination. I love it anyway.

image

Would have loved to stay longer but there was only so much time my non-secondhand obsessed companions could look at classic cars and eat macaroni cheese in the cold. I’ll definitely be looking out for the next event.

One thought on “Classic Car Boot Sale

Leave a Reply

