mycharityshoplife does Doncaster

Last weekend I took Isabella to my home town to spend some time with family. It also gave me a good opportunity to check out what Doncaster had to offer by way of charity shops. “Its research!” I convinced my Dad.

On the Friday evening I was due to meet my cousins for dinner at the Hare & Tortoise and I wanted something nice to wear (I always travel very light – but this does give me an excuse to go shopping). So my Dad drove us over to Armthorpe where there are 3 Barnardo’s shops. The children’s Barnardo’s shop on Church Street has helped me out in the past. I’ve stocked my Dad’s house up with essential baby equipment from here so I didn’t have to bring it all from London when I visited. On this occasion I went to the Donation Centre on Mill Street, where I found this lovely vintage style dress for £1.99.

Vintage-style dress

Dorothy Perkins vintage-style dress, £1.99 from Barnardo’s Donation Centre, Mill Street, Armthorpe.

The next day, we started in Cantley. The Neighbourhood Centre, run by St Paul’s Church on Goodison Boulevard regularly sells second-hand clothes and runs coffee mornings. On this occasion it was holding a Christmas fair too, so Isabella managed to con sweets out of Santa, and this hypnotising, battery operated snow dome out of my Dad for £1.

Snow dome

Battery operated snow dome, £1 from St Paul’s Church neighbourhood centre Christmas fair, Cantley.

We then went into town. Some charity shops seemed a bit thin on stock. However, I am a very determined customer and seeing as I had some rare spare time, and Grandad to keep an eye on Isabella, I browsed meticulously and came away with some great items. Firstly, I found this brand new dark grey jumper, with split back detail for £3.99 in Age UK, Bowers Fold.

Grey jumper (front)

Grey jumper (front), £3.99 from Age UK, Bowers Fold, Doncaster

Grey jumper (back)

Grey jumper (back), £3.99 from Age UK, Bowers Fold, Doncaster

And finally, from British Heart Foundation in the Collonades, I found two River Island long sleeved T-shirts in mint condition, one with red stripes and one with navy stripes, for £4.79 each. Very practical. I’m wearing the red striped one today.

2 River Island T-shirts

Two River Island long sleeved T-shirts, £4.79 each from British Heart Foundation, The Collonades, Doncaster

So I’m really pleased with my purchases, even though it took a bit of searching I managed to source donated items that are my style and I know I’m going to wear them all. Thing is … now I have to apply my one in one out policy.

Leave a Reply

